Excerpt from Silenced Justice: Second in the Josh Williams Series

Prologue

Darnel Grey was an angry man.

Walking from the parking lot of the Shell Station, he wondered how he was going to tell his wife he’d lost another job.

Not that he had much choice in the matter. She’d probably already heard.

He needed to learn to control his temper. Rage had cost him a great deal. No matter how tough you were, there was always someone tougher. He had never learned that lesson. It might cost him his life someday.

But the nightmares that haunted him wouldn’t go away. The sounds of the war echoed loudly in his head, robbing him of sleep.

No one understood.

All they saw was an angry black man.

Darnel Grey was an angry man, with a good reason.

Chapter 1

No Good Deed

As East Providence Detective Lieutenant Josh Williams walked into his office, the phone started ringing. Christ, I haven’t even had coffee yet. Bad sign. He thought

“SIU, Lieutenant Williams.”

“Big freaking deal.”

“Hey Cheeks. How are you? To what do I attribute the honor of this call?”

Josh Williams listened as his former boss, retired Detective Lieutenant Chris “Swiss Cheeks” Hamlin laughed on the other end of the line.

“Can I buy you a drink after work? Or, more accurately, once you leave the PD after pretending to do something all day.”

“Oh, shit,” Josh replied, “this is going to cost me way more than a drink, isn’t it? I’ve gotta pay attention to caller ID.”

“Now, now, my former protege. Have I ever steered you wrong?”

“Really?” Josh replied. “I think I can forgo that answer.”

“I kept you out of prison.”

“Well, to be completely accurate, you pointed me towards an attorney that did that. But I won’t argue semantics. Where will you be gracing me with your presence?”

“How about Amsterdam’s on South Main?”

Oh Christ, this is bad. Really bad. Josh thought. “Should I bring a fake passport and unnumbered weapons?”

“Nothing of the like. Just looking for a little help.” Chris answered. “Not to worry.”

“Remember what Chief Brennan always told us about those three words?”

“Oh, yeah. Okay. Only a slight worry.” Chris added. “See you there.”

Leave a comment